As with all things, the grand spectacle that is the Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association annual clinic wrapped up the festivities during the evening of Saturday, Jan. 22. Just like in years past, it was a great time had by many with knowledge and expertise in the sport of baseball abundant in one location. It’s always a great time for baseball coaches, umpires, and more to come together amid the cold offseason to come together, collaborate, and simply enjoy the conversation of the baseball diamond. All of that was capped off in usual fashion with the IHSBCA Awards Banquet, giving out honors and awards to those who earned big milestones and overall helped the 2021 campaign to be so outstanding. Here are the honors that were given out:

Hall Of Fame

  • Billy Argo (Coach) – Davenport
  • Mike Laird (Coach) – Oskaloosa
  • Nick Zumsande (Coach) – Muscatine
Nick Zumsande – Photo Courtesy of Dugout Sports
  • Brian Luft (Coach) – Des Moines
  • Reggie Stalzer (Player) – Marshalltown
  • Joe Hoerner (Player) – Dubuque
  • Jay Flora (Umpire) – Marshalltown

Service Awards

Lee Toole – Daily Nonpareil
  • 15-Year Award: Tyler Downing (Charles City), Cale Kramer (Hinton)
  • 20-Year Award: Sheldon Card (Pleasantville), Steve Gebhart (Saydel), Brad Ward (North Scott)
  • 25-Year Award: Dave Rock (Pella)
  • 40-Year Award: Mike Long (Woodward-Granger), Charlie Stumpff (Iowa City West), Jay Ryan (Davenport), Lee Toole (Council Bluffs)

Media Awards

Todd Weber – Earlham Echo
  • West District: Scott Byers (Northwest Iowa Review)
  • Central District: Todd Weber (Earlham Echo)
  • KJ Pilcher – Cedar Rapids Gazette

Dennis Olejniczak Legacy Award

Jerry Roling – Photo Courtesy of The Gazette
  • Gary Nyhus (Clear Lake)
  • Jerry Roling (Dubuque)

True Pitch District Diamond Awards

New Hampton Baseball Field
  • West District: Coon Rapids-Bayard, Pocahontas, Sioux Center
  • Central District: St. Ansgar, Roland-Story, Nevada, Urbandale
  • Northeast District: Alburnett, New Hampton, Independence, Cedar Falls
  • Northeast District: New London, Williamsburg, Solon, Pleasant Valley

Win Club Winner Awards

Brian Wede – Northwestern College
  • 100-Wins: Ryan Burkhart (Alta-Aurelia), Bo Darrow (Newell-Fonda), Tyler Downing (Charles City), Dan Halter (Cedar Rapids Xavier)
  • 200-Wins: Jerod Brown (West Marshall), Aaron Hamann (Edgewood-Colesburg), Jeremy Heinen (Waukee NW), John Jaeger (Ottumwa), Kyle Rodenkirk (Linn-Mar), Tony Stenberg (Grinnell), Kory Tuescher (Wahlert Catholic)
  • 300-Wins: Michael Barta (Johnston), Darryl Cochran (Camanche), Jon Fitzpatrick (Indianola), Roamn Hummel (Cascade)
  • 400-Wins: Travis Griffith (North Linn), Andy Osborne (Sioux City Bishop Heelan), Devin Schwiesow (St. Ansgar)
  • 500-Wins: Brian Wede (MOC-FV/Northwestern College)
  • 600-Wins: Todd Rima (Kirkwood CC), Jake Souhrada (Wilton)
  • 800-Wins: Charlie Stumpff (Iowa City West)

Dave Harty Umpire Newcomer of the Year Award

  • Marcus Chieves (Ballard)
  • Tyler Hovick (Des Moines)
  • Zach Hovick (Des Moines)
  • Dan Mullenback (Urbandale)

Assistant coach Nominees

  • West District: Billy Sanders (St. Albert), Kyle Dupic (Alta-Aurelia), Ryan Titman (Boone)
  • Central District: Tony Bianealana (Des Moines Roosevelt), Jarek Sefeit (Dowling Catholic), Brandon Stoulil (Norwalk)
  • Northeast District: Tom Hauck (Marion), Justin Kress (North Linn), Brock Sabers (Jesup)
  • Southeast District: Jim White (Solon), Ed Sawvell (Wilton), TJ Rausch (Washington)

College Coach of the Year

  • 2-Year Coach: Todd Rima (Kirkwood)
  • 4-Year Coach: Steve Cook (Coe College)

Umpire of the Year Nominees

  • Northwest District: Jim Pfiefer (Milford), Mark Harris (Moville), Rod Berg (Carroll)
  • Southwest District: Scott Busch (Creston), Kieth Wohlers (Council Bluffs), Trace Petersen (Atlantic)
  • Central District: Heath Banks (Prole), Joel Harthoorn (Sully), Mike Kelly (Waukee)
  • Northeast District: Jeff Frese (Norway), Matt Nauman (Cascade), Dan Klein (Cedar Falls)
  • Southeast District: Mike Botts (Davenport), Josh Ragar (West Point), Terry Allison (Fairfield)

Coach of the Year Award:

Steve Fish (Marion): Photo Courtesy of Joseph Cress (Iowa City Press Citizen)
  • Class 1A: Duncan Patterson (St. Albert)
  • Class 2A: Eben Baumhover (Van Meter)
  • Class 3A: Steve Fish (Marion)
  • class 4A: Derek Stecklein (Pleasant Valley)

District Coaches of the Year

  • 1A District: Northwest: Dean Harpenau (Remsen St. Mary’s), Southwest: Duncan Patterson (St. Albert), Central: Pat Brown (Grundy Center), Northeast: Jim Mauss (Kee), Southeast Brad Helmerson ( New London)
  • 2A District: Northwest: Marlin Schoonhoven (Unity Christian), Southwest: Rod Eberly (Clarinda), Central: Eben Baumhover (Van Meter), Northeast: Cory McDonald (New Hampton), Southeast: Daryl Cochran (Camanche)
  • 3A District: Northwest: Brian Wede (MOC-FV), Southwest: Travis Nedved (Winterset), Central: Adison Kehoe (Webster City), Northeast: Steve Fish (Marion), Southeast: Shane Sikkema (Central DeWitt)
  • 4A District: West: Trevor Miller (Sioux city East), Northcentral: Michael Barta (Johnston), South Central, John Jaeger (Ottumwa), Northeast: James Nelson ( Cedar Rapids Prairie), Southeast: Derek Stecklein (Pleasant Valley)